WREG.com

[ooyala code=”EyazVvbTpE76kaJAVaLJ3XbCkiH1jjuO” player_id=”ffbcf8e010eb4c238d3dda4eb935d806″]

(Tupelo, MS) Stories of survival are coming out of Tupelo one day after an EF2 tornado touched down there.

People who live in the town are also getting a better look at the damage caused by the mile-wide twister.

Most are amazed by the strength of the tornado that flattened buildings, flipped cars and ripped apart just about everything in its way.

“I’m shocked. I didn’t realize it was this bad. I just want to cry because this is a very special area for me,” said Tupelo Councilwoman Nettie Davis.

Al Lanzano watched crews salvage what they could from what used to be a gas station.

He stopped by the station at Gloster and North Green yesterday to fill up and before he knew it he was taking shelter in a cooler with employees there.

“All I could hear was the crushing wind,” said Lazano.

He has…

View original post 187 more words

